The Municipal Act states that general municipal elections must be held every four years on the fourth Wednesday in October. 2022 is an election year and Wednesday, October 26 is election day for the RM of St. Clements.

The RM has seven elected positions: one mayor and six councillors. There are three councillors in each ward. This group is known as council. The mayor is chair of council and represents the entire RM.

You can find answers to most of your election FAQs at the province’s municipal election website.

To find election results, please visit

You are eligible to vote in the RM of St. Clements if either of the following apply:

There are two types of voters that are qualified to vote in a municipal election and a Local Urban District committee election.

Resident Voters: In order to qualify as a resident voter, a person must be:

    • A Canadian citizen;
    • At least 18 years of age on Election Day; and
    • A resident of the local authority or Local Urban District for at least six months on Election Day.

Persons with no fixed address may vote in a municipal election. If the person has no ordinary or “fixed” residence in the local authority, they are deemed to reside at the shelter, hostel or other similar institution that most frequently provides lodging, food or other social services.

Non-resident Voters: In order to qualify as a non-resident voter, a person must be:

    • A Canadian citizen;
    • At least 18 years of age on Election Day; and
    • A registered owner of land in the municipality or Local Urban District for at least six months on Election Day.

For municipal election purposes, “registered owner of land” means:

  • a tenant or occupier of the land, if his or her name is entered on the latest revised realty assessment roll as the owner of a right, interest or estate in it; or
  • if no person qualifies under clause (a), the person who is the owner of a freehold estate in the land, including a person who is owner with another person, as joint tenants, or tenants in common of a freehold estate OR a person who is registered under The Condominium Act as the owner, defined in that Act, of a unit under that Act.

If there are more than two non-resident property owners for a single property, a maximum of two can vote in a municipal election. In order to vote, each voter must obtain written consent from the majority of the registered property owners, and file this with the Senior Election Official.

In the case of ward elections, a voter must vote in the ward where they reside, even if they own property in more than one ward. If a property owner does not reside in the municipality, but owns property in more than one ward, the person must apply to the Senior Election Official to designate their voting ward. The voter must choose a ward before the voters list is closed to revisions, or the Senior Election Official will choose a ward on the voter’s behalf.

When do I vote?

Between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm on Wednesday, October 26, 2022.

*Identification may be required before being allowed to vote.

Do I need identification to vote?

A voter may be asked to produce identification if there are questions about the voter’s eligibility. All voters should bring ID with them to the voting place, or when requesting a sealed envelope ballot in person. Even voters who request a sealed envelope ballot in writing must submit photocopies of their ID when applying to vote.

Acceptable identification includes an official document issued by the federal, provincial or municipal government that contains the voter’s name, address and photograph or at least two documents that provide evidence satisfactory to the election official.

Voting options

Information on the following will be updated and provided shortly:

  • Advance voting – Advance Polls will be from 8:00am-8:00pm at the Municipal Office, 1043 Kittson Road, East Selkirk, on Friday, October 21, 2022, and Saturday, October 22, 2022.
  • Sealed envelope voting
  • Voting places
  • Polling stations – Polling Stations will be open from 8:00am-8:00pm on Wednesday, October 26, 2022.  Please click here to view the map and locate your designated polling station.

Polling Stations

Click here to download our Polling Stations Map to find where you will be voting.

You can now find out the location of your polling station by entering your address or roll number in the search bar of this new interactive map. It will also provide directions if you are unsure of where it is located.


After a candidate has registered, which for mayor is between May 1 and September 20, 2022 and for council is between June 30 and September 20, 2022, they might visit your home to talk with you. Candidates are prepared to show photo ID on request.

Election Results

Statement of Official Results for the Rural Municipality of St. Clements 2022 Municipal Election

In by acclamation Mayor – Debbie Fiebelkorn

In by acclamation Councillor, Ward 1 – Scott Spicer

In by acclamation Councillor, Ward 1 – Sandra Strang

In by acclamation Councillor, Ward 1 – Glen Basarowich

The following ballots were received and the vote for Councillor, Ward 2 stands at:

SUTHERLAND, David – 726 votes

NEPLYK, Terrence – 422 votes

BELANGER, Robert – 626 votes

PIKTA, Maria – 497 votes

LEVIN, Cheryl – 395 votes

HORBAS, David – 600 votes

16 ballot papers were declined, rejected, spoiled, or taken from the voting station

David Sutherland, Robert Belanger, and David Horbas have been elected as Councillors, Ward 2

To view the Statement of Official Results document please click here

Public Notices